MCD - Morell Cartagena & Dapena

About Puerto Rico

The Puerto Rico Constitution establishes a democratic and republican form of government, divided into three branches: the legislative, executive, and judicial branches, each of equal importance and equally subordinated to the sovereign power of the people.

The legislative branch consists of a bicameral Legislative Assembly with a Senate (27 members) and a House of Representatives (51 members). A constitutional provision requires the total membership in the assembly be expanded, if necessary, to increase minority representation whenever one party controls more than two-thirds of the seats.

A resident commissioner, who serves as the island's sole delegate to the U.S. Congress, holds limited powers as a member of the U.S. House of Representatives. Executive authority is vested in a governor.

The island is divided into 78 municipalities, each administered by a mayor and municipal assembly. All of the aforementioned positions are elective, with balloting conducted on the Tuesday after the first Monday in November, in years divisible by four; with victorious candidates taking office the following January. Resident U.S. citizens, age 18 and older, are eligible to vote; voter turnout consistently exceeds 80% of the electorate.

The governor holds nomination power over executive branch and public corporation leadership positions, under a highly centralized structure. The secretary of state (who serves as acting governor in the chief executive's absence) must be confirmed by a majority vote of both chambers of the Legislative Assembly; other senior nominees require confirmation only by the Senate.

The constitution vests judicial power in the Puerto Rico Supreme Court, and such lower courts as may be established by law. Members of the judicial branch are nominated by the governor and confirmed by the Senate. Decisions rendered by municipal, district, and superior courts may be appealed, until they reach the Commonwealth Supreme Court composed of seven justices. Lower-court judges serve fixed terms; Supreme Court justices serve until retirement. The court system is administered by the chief justice of the Supreme Court.

Seven judges, nominated by the U.S. president and confirmed by the stateside Senate, serve on Puerto Rico's federal district court. Its decisions may be appealed through the federal court system to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the First Circuit, and on to the U.S. Supreme Court. Decisions of the Puerto Rico Supreme Court may be appealed directly to the U.S. Supreme Court.

Information provided by the Puerto Rico Manufacturers Association.


Hato Rey

Plaza 273
Suite 700
273 Ponce de León Ave.
Hato Rey, Puerto Rico 00917-1934


Our postal address: PO Box 13399, San Juan, Puerto Rico 00908.

Switchboard: (787) 723-1233 | Fax: (787) 723-8763

Please click on our Team page for direct telephone numbers and e-mail addresses.